Reviews Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park

Reviews Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park

"What a Fabulous Location"

Reviewed 24 Mar 2017

Just far enough out of town to immerse yourself in seaside tranquility. This park is the only one in Kiakoura which has a beachfront and is only a short drive from the main town. We enjoyed sunset drinks, dolphins, beach walks and stargazing at this beautiful location. Friendly and very accommodating staff. We loved this place so much we extended our stay. My husband particularly enjoyed the disco lights in one of the shower heads. Would I stay there again? Definitely!

Louisa K

The most beautiful place

Reviewed 13 Mar 2017

The most beautiful place on our whole tour with the camper van in the South Island!! It's situated right at the sea (we had spot n° 17) and you can hear the waves at night. Showers were super clean. There is enough hot water. Everything is taking great care of. We would have like to spend a few more days here and are sure to come back.

Reviewed 13 Mar 17

Very nice campsite right at the beach!

Reviewed 07 Mar 2017

Very nice campsite right at the beach! We watched dolphins during breakfast at our sea view spot. Close to Kaikoura, super friendly staff, clean facilities and fresh baked bread available. Highly recommended!!

Reviewed 7 March 17

"Gorgeous location

Reviewed 20 Mar 2017

"Gorgeous location--easy bike ride into Kaikoura" Great campground that is sadly (good for us) under utilized due to the quake and traffic changes. Great 8 km of beach (we saw 4 people on it) and an easy 7 km bike ride to town for any of the tours. Showers and washrooms immaculate--ALL of the staff were warm friendly and helpful. Kaikoura is rebounding but see it now so you can see it later-Gorgeous setting in every direction while standing in awe of the power of nature (and the strength of people)

Erik B

Our favourite campsite in NZ!

Reviewed 06 Mar 2017

Our favourite campsite in NZ! So so beautiful & we were able to camp so close to the beach. Only 10 mins into Kaikoura. Clean showers & toilets and good kitchen. Also has a great mini golf course. Reception staff really helpful.

Reviewed 6 Mar 17

Great campsite

Reviewed 28 Feb 2017

Great campsite with very friendly owners, clean facilities, good price for the quality it offers. There are tent sites right next to the beach where you can fall asleep with the sound of the ocean :-) and there is is a cool swinging boat (also fun for adults;-). Definitely would come again! one of the nicest campsites within 5 weeks of travelling also as of surrounding scenery - dolphins playing on the beach in the morning :-)

Reviewed 28 Feb 17

"Fabulous "

Reviewed 11 Feb 2017

Loved this camp. Not flat out in February but it deserves to be. Plenty of room on site which we really appreciate. Over being squashed in like sardines. Beachfront was perfect. Lulled asleep by sound of waves. Friendly helpful staff. Amenities very clean, attractive and well maintained. . Great to see recycling being practised and codes to acess the shower block are an excellent idea.

Di A

One of the best campsites we've been to

Reviewed 21 Feb 2017

One of the best campsites we've been to. Nice owners! We had a problem with our car ca. 1 km away from the campsite and the owner towed us away with his tractor, helped us build a ramp and lend us his tools! Kitchen and bathroom are functional and clean, if 15 min light and 7 min hot water are not enough for you, you might consider taking a hotel...

Reviewed 21 Feb 17

"Our Fave Place"

Reviewed 07 Feb 2017

We always return here to camp as we have done for the last few years. A powered tent site. Facilities are always clean and tidy, the location is great, close to South Bay and only a few minutes drive into Kaikoura Township. Real Fruit Ice Creams are delish! Was great to see the park humming at Waitangi weekend. The benefit for us is that we are always able to take our dog with us. Drift off to sleep with the sound of the ocean. Plenty of beach for everyone to enjoy.

budgieboogie

Favourite Campsite

Reviewed 08 Feb 2017

Favourite Campsite of my wife and one of the best also for me and our daughter in whole NZ. Clean, nice little playground,great flying fox. Beach with great view over the whole bay and some seals just a short stroll up. Very friendly and helpfull staff (owners) Great real fruit ice cream, my favorite.

Reviewed 8 Feb 17

SUPER beautiful place

Reviewed 04 Feb 2017

Everything is perfect 100%. Thanks for your effort. To be able to watch dolphins during breakfast - what could be nicer!!! Shower with hot water, everything designed with love. Fantastic, we love this place

Reviewed 4 Feb 17

"Stunning beachfront location!"

Reviewed 01 Feb 2017

I have stayed at this Holiday Park twice and it has a great location with beachfront pitches and the Kaikoura mountain range as a backdrop. Nothing beats drifting off to sleep to the sound of waves which are literally on your doorstep. Get up early and you will witness some stunning sunrises and in the evening there are photo opportunities galore as the sun sets behind the mountains. There is a bench at the beach which is a great place to sip a coffee and welcome the morning after a walk along the black volcanic sands. The first time I stayed I saw dolphins playing in the waves close to the shore. This is a dog friendly campground with some chilled out pooches soaking up the relaxed atmosphere with their owners. We stayed in a camper and found the facilities of the shower block and sinks clean and tidy.

Swallow73

"Great place to stay"

Reviewed 14 Jan 2017

Jan 14, 2017Reviewed by NickiGS An excellent holiday park right on the beach! All the facilities you need are right here. Clean toilets and showers. A kitchen and laundry with a well maintained Park and recycling bays to make it easier. A beautiful spot to stay.

NickiGS

Great campsite

Reviewed 18 Jan 2017

Great campsite right on the beach ..... Definitely the best site around Kiakora very friendly and very quiet at the moment due to road closures! good shop and helpful staff.

Reviewed 18 Jan 17

"Stay Here.!!! "

Reviewed 02 Jan 2017

Highly recommend staying at the Peketa Holiday Camp, the owners are so accomodating and friendly. The camp itself is so clean, looked after and homely. The views from some of the tenting sites are incredible, we were lucky enough to watch dolphins play straight out from our tent, truly amazing. We wouldn't want to be anywhere else while staying and exploring Kaikoura. A fantastic experience, thank you.!

Bexx1986

Very nice campsite

Reviewed 27 Dec 2016

Very nice campsite close to Kaikoura and you can camp next to the beach. Good facilities, nice hot showers, kitchen with a lovely place to sit outside but there are also places inside. The owner was very friendly and we felt very welcoming! Laundry (hot) 2$ and dryer also 2$ but you should use it twice. Wifi is good and i highly recommend this campsite.

Reviewed 27 Dec 16

Very nice campsite

Reviewed 27 Dec 2016

Very nice campsite close to Kaikoura and you can camp next to the beach. Good facilities, nice hot showers, kitchen with a lovely place to sit outside but there are also places inside. The owner was very friendly and we felt very welcoming! Laundry (hot) 2$ and dryer also 2$ but you should use it twice. Wifi is good and i highly recommend this campsite.

Reviewed 27 Dec 16

"Wonderful friendly campground"

Reviewed 07 Dec 2016

We stopped here in our camper van as we toured South Island NZ. What a wonderful and friendly place right on the beach. Heartbroken to hear of the recent earthquake. We hope for all the best to the owners and local businesses for a quick recovery.

Dorothy A

"Awesome" 5/5

Reviewed 23 Nov 2016

I spent two nights at this facility about a week before the big earthquake that was national news in Nov 2016. I sure hope they are able to recover quickly as Kaikura was my favorite location in the country. I had mistakenly made reservations for Dec 2016 instead of Nov, but the host had plenty of room and set me up with a great site - 200 meters from the Pacific Ocean on the backside and a beautiful view of the Kaikura Range on the front - I didn't know which way to look! It's about 8km south of Kaikura, but not too far out of the way. very quiet and relaxing location! Highly recommend.

Mark C

Great! More than great!!

Reviewed 09 Nov 2016

Clean showers/toilets, friendly people, awesome camping spot right at the beach, fair price (36 unpowered for 2, including hot shower and fast internet). The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the minigolf - very bumpy and random..

09 Nov 2016

"Family getaway" 4/5

Reviewed 16 Oct 2016

First time me and my family stayed here and it was great ! Great value for money. We stayed in the cabins . Great bbq area toliets are nice and clean .Everyone is so sweet of the campground and you feel super safe :) definitely recommended !

Reviewed by Monida C

"A wonderful stay" 5/5

Reviewed 15 Oct 2016

This holiday park has exceeded our expectations in every area. The powered caravan sites were close to the toilets and there was a playground for children. Our site was close to the beach and we even saw a whale frolicking not far from the coast. All amenities were quite clean and well serviced. On top of that, the receptionist was extremely nice and gave us information about the area, including where to see seals. It was a wonderful stay at Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by dabawu

"A wonderful stay" 5/5

Reviewed 15 Oct 2016

This holiday park has exceeded our expectations in every area. The powered caravan sites were close to the toilets and there was a playground for children. Our site was close to the beach and we even saw a whale frolicking not far from the coast. All amenities were quite clean and well serviced. On top of that, the receptionist was extremely nice and gave us information about the area, including where to see seals. It was a wonderful stay at Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by dabawu

Once again, a great stay” 4/5

Reviewed 05 Oct 2016

Friendly welcome, accommodating, clean and tidy, great location. Good facilities. Absolute beachfront. Approx 8km from the kaikoura township but has the long beach directly in front of the camp - perfect for beach walks although not a swimming beach. Some sites have excellent sea views, others don't but are more sheltered. We keep coming back here and will continue to do so. Recommend. Stayed October 2016, traveled as a couple

frankiethe

A place like Home 5 stars

Reviewed 04 Sep 2016

Stayed here twice this year, once in April and again in September. This camp feels like home ! my favourite in NZ

Emilie & Michel

Love this spot 5 Sars

Reviewed 15 Aug 2016

Love this spot - fantastic for our family of energetic children. Very clean facilities, love being able to light a fire on the beach. Awesome to see dolphins right from the beach.

Karen & Alex Martin

Great Stay - 4 stars

Reviewed 26 Jul 2016

We had such a great stay at Peketa Beach, Corrine is a real asset to your business! She was lovely! So helpful and happy to offer local knowledge and advice.

Kelly Cameron

"Best spot on Kaikoura Coast" 5 of 5 stars

Reviewed 26 Jul 2016

What a great place to stay, close to the beach, clean and tidy facilities and great staff. Not the newest of flashest but a great friendly, safe place to stay with the beach at your doorstep, will definitely be back

mikej877

"Awesome spot"

Reviewed 18 Jul 2016

5 of 5 stars May 15, 2016 Great place to park up the caravan for a few days & relax watching the waves! Stayed a few times now with our little dog & love the quick easy service at reception! Clean & tidy grounds with everything you need - small shop at reception, playground for kids, free hot showers, table/chairs & water taps beside all powered sites. We will definitely be back!!

Tony R

Perfect location 4/5 stars

Reviewed 08 Jun 2016

Perfect location, stayed right on the seafront. Great facilities, friendly staff and fun unexpected extras like the flying fox.

Pete

Great Staff

Reviewed 08 Jun 2016

Very helpful staff and very welcoming. Really amazing facilities. Well worth the money.

Lee

Nice place

Reviewed 08 Jun 2016

Nice place, tidy facilities, great internet, great view!. Honest price. Thankyou

Alizob 2 JC Ogier

Nice place

Reviewed 08 Jun 2016

Nice place, tidy facilities, great internet, great view!. Honest price. Thankyou

Alizob 2 JC Ogier

Just awesome 5 stars

Reviewed 08 Jul 2016

As we drove by years ago we have been here regularly as we travel to & from Blenheim. Just awesome. Friendly, clean, easy going and cheapest laundry in the country.

Reviewed 30 May

Camp was nice

Reviewed 08 Jul 2016

Camp was nice, WiFi was excellent. We had a powered hard site on the beach front which was nice as the beach is beautiful. Staff friendly. Facilities very clean and 5 min shower (which you start from the outside of the cabin) was enough. We heard the traffic from the road but slept without problem.

Reviewed 23 June

Excellent camp ground

Reviewed 08 Jul 2016

Excellent camp ground. Highly recommended

Reviewd 4 June

Stayed here in March... Nice beach campground..

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Stayed here in March... Nice beach campground.. Short drive to Kaikoura stayed in my van next to beach even went fishing off beach and caught fish for dinner.. Good showers good bbq's small kitchen.. Recommended and thankyou to friendly host.

10 May 2016

Nice location.

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Nice location. 5 min from Kaikoura. Sites with beach views. Very friendly Staff. Facilities are clean. Just don't forget to bring your own pans etc to the kitchen. Cookers, microwave and toasters available and nice sofa's and picnic tables. Good value for money. for 2p on non powered site. Highly recommended.

Reviews 5 Mar 16

Great beach front spot

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Great beach front spot. Perfect for sunrises. Good quality free showers. Helpful staff. Would recommend.

04 May 2016

Beautiful park with lots to do!

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Beautiful park with lots to do! The kitchen is small but compact, radio in showers. The view of the ocean is absolutely amazing and the lady at reception is so helpful and kind. So worth a nights stay! 40 for powered site for 2 people or 44 for powered site for beach side view (close walk either way!)

Reviewed 03 May 2016

Great spot

Reviewed 13 May 2016

Great spot, with good facilities, kitchen was great. You can hear a bit of road traffic but seeing dolphins from the beach in the morning was awesome and made it well worth it :)

Reviewed 29 April 2016

Very good location

Reviewed 13 May 2016

Very good location, perfect for stopping before/after visiting Kaikoura. Really friendly staff, clean facilities, a bit small kitchen, nice bbq for (2 person, non-powered tent site). You can also see dolphins in the morning.

Reviews 13 April 16

Lovely View

Reviewed 13 May 2016

Perfect reception, lovely view and direct access to the beach with possibility of sighting dolphins with a bit of luck and getting up early. Definitely recommended!

Reviews 1 April 16

Fantastic Location 10/10

Reviewed 11 Apr 2016

Fantastic location. You can pretty much camp on the beach and there's a great point break. Perfect peeling waves with pretty much no one on them!! We stayed here 2 nights.

Chadd Holland

Very beautiful place

Reviewed 11 Apr 2016

Very beautiful place, on eof the best during our round trip. Sanitary facilities are very good, with music in the bathroom. In the evenings you can do a beautiful beach walk. Perfect starting point for whale watching.

Reviewed 01 April 16

Beautiful holiday park

Reviewed 11 Apr 2016

Beautiful holiday park, very friendly great facilities well priced right on the beach and only 5 mins from kaikoura town. Would stay again ????

Reviewed 23 March 2016

Great place

Reviewed 11 Apr 2016

Great place, the best camping we did currently. Very clean, hosts top. We can see dolphins from the beach locations. 10min of Kaikoura. I recommend.

Reviewed 2nd March 16

Second visit, good value, great spot

Reviewed 20 Mar 2016

On the outskirts of Kaikoura a good campground. We visited here last year to pitch a tent and this year we booked a cabin. Shared facilities were spotless. Great beach location. Small well equipped shop on site. Will book again. Easy to find its just off the main State Highway.

Marcia Haigh

Value for Money 5/5

Reviewed 17 Mar 2016

Stayed here 2 Nights. In my 6 months in nz I think this campsite has the most bang for buck. 18 bucks for 1 adult, comes with showers, kitchen, barbecue area and unbeatable beachfront views. Well worth it.

Ryan Yung

A lovely clean camp 10/10

Reviewed 17 Mar 2016

A lovely clean camp, nice lady at reception, nice and peaceful, reasonable rate at a night, we'll go again one day.

Ray & Cynthia

Beautifully clean 5/5

Reviewed 16 Mar 2016

Beautifully clean, easy parking for caravans, friendly staff

Dawn & Ray Murray

Beautiful Campground

Reviewed 14 Mar 2016

Absolutely beautiful campground, we could stay with our van just next to the beach. Clean facilities and I really appreciated the radio in the shower :)

Reviews 6 Mar

Beautiful campground

Reviewed 27 Feb 2016

For me this was one of the most beautiful campgrounds as well, the location is beautiful, the place is neat and at the same time you feel like in real nature with the sites at the sea. We could watch dolphins directly from "our" beach area.

Reviewd 26 Feb 16

Site right at the beach

Reviewed 27 Feb 2016

Natural site right at stone- and sand beach, dolphins in the sea, and fur seal was sleeping on the beach. Playground with high slide, flying fox,... Laundry: 2$ Warm shower inclusive Personally: one of the most beautiful camps.

Reviewed 17 Feb 16

Right by the beach

Reviewed 27 Feb 2016

You may see seals on the nearby beach. Right by the beach ,so the view is very beatiful. 68NZD for 3 of us at a powered site. About 10 minutes'drive from the town.

Reviewed 15 Feb 16

Great sport for the night

Reviewed 27 Feb 2016

Great spot for the night. A bit pricey at altogether for one night unpowered. Great clean facilities. Laundry and dryers. Lovely grass areas and plenty of space.

Reviewed 13 Feb 16

Wonderful Spot

Reviewed 20 Feb 2016

Wonderful spot right next to the beach. Best campsite in NZ so far!!

Reviewed 04 Feb 2016

Beauiful Campsite

Reviewed 18 Feb 2016

When we were there the weather was bad, but this seems to be the most beautiful campsite on the South Island anyway. $ 20 pp for a powered site, right next to the sea. Just perfect. Facilities were clean, super friendly staff and helped us with pots, great kitchen, a BBQ was missing and it was quite dark at night. All in all still great. We would have liked to stay longer, if the weather would have been better.

Reviewed 4th Feb 2016

Excellent

Reviewed 09 Feb 2016

Excellent Great Facilities so clean, Beautiful view of the beach and we saw the dolphins.

Michael

Awesome Kiwi Camping 5/5

Reviewed 30 Jan 2016

We went camping in tents and while it is the busy time of year there was plenty of space in this huge camp ground. Staff were friendly. The campgrounds were tidy and well maintained. Love the playground for children and the kitchen and bathrooms are nice and clean. Also love that they play music in the bathrooms and that there were enough well spaced rubbish bins all over the campground. The only thing we would do different next time is to choose a spot a bit further from the road as the big trucks at night was quite noisy when passing the campground but I am a light sleeper too. Over all a great experience and we will be back.

Carien V

Great Site

Reviewed 30 Jan 2016

Great site! We had a powered spot right by the beach, lovely views. Only 5 minute drive into town. The showers & toilets were clean & well looked after. Free hot showers. Good laundry area. Lovely helpful lady on reception. We didn't want to leave.

Reviewed 26 Jan 16

Thank you

Reviewed 30 Jan 2016

We would have called in but we wet. We all really enjoyed our holiday at your camp. The staff we're really great, the facilities were always clean even if it was busy. So thank you again. We will be back.

Eggers Family

Great campsite

Reviewed 24 Jan 2016

Great campsite, very nice and helpful reception, good and clean ablutions, toilets and kitchen. The site is spaciously laid out, we took a spot right at the beach, 2 people and a powered site for $ 44, 24 hours wifi 10 GB . I can recommend this campsite.

Stayed Jan 15

Beautiful camp site

Reviewed 17 Jan 2016

Beautiful camp site, toilets were clean and the site has plenty of space for the kids to run around. The beach was amazing and was only a 30 second walk away. Loved this camp site, recommend it to all!

Anonymous

Beachfront Site

Reviewed 17 Jan 2016

Well worth the extra for the beachfront site. Definitely a better choice than motor camps closer to town. Kids loved the flying fox.

Unknown

"On The Beach"

Reviewed 15 Jan 2016

A large but well maintained campground on the edge of the beach south of Kaikoura. We pitched our tent on a beach front spot just over the dunes... you fall asleep to the sound of the waves. Blissful. There is plenty of room for everyone and it has quieter areas if you want to be away from everything. Plenty of access paths to get to the facility blocks etc. Playgrounds, flying fox and mini golf for the kids. Our neighbors got asked to turn their music down by the management and they are very vigilant about keeping the site tidy, recycling emptied, and facilities cleaned. Will definitely be going back!

angharadvr

Happy New Year To Everyone

Reviewed 30 Dec 2015

The park is well and truly humming, Kids playing non stop, making new friends, parents kicking back enjoying the outdoors, BBQ's galore and lots of laughter and happiness. Thanks to everyone for making it such a fantastic place to stay.

Eve

Thanks alot

Reviewed 19 Nov 2015

Thanks a lot for your tips and help. We had a wonderful stay and saw a lot of dolphins

Sandrina Jochemsen

“Sunrise, the ocean, whales, dolphins, seabirds and smooth, flat stones ...”

Reviewed 30 Oct 2015

4 of 5 stars Reviewed: We have just spent two idyllic days at this seaside motor camp with spectacular mountain views to the west and the ocean pounding on to the shore to the east, just 100m from our campsite. We gazed in awe as hundreds of dolphins played as they fed on shoals of fish, sea birds floated in formation to get their share, and whales surfaced in the distance. We walked the beach, across scattered flat round stones and coarse sand to near the water's edge. Undertow itself was spectacular too and a strong deterrent from swimming. But the sea was magnificent, pounding on to the beach. Walking was easy and the whole experience mesmerising. The sunrise on our second morning was unbelievably beautiful. Soft glow to brilliant! This campsite is one of the most memorable we have visited. Camping sites are large and the facilities clean and all we needed. We shall return whenever we travel south on the coast road.. This camping ground is easily missed so watch out for it, just a few kilometres south of Kaikoura. It is a wonderful place to stay!!!

Julie M

Definitely be returning

Reviewed 30 Oct 2015

Good morning! We stayed with you over the weekend and would like to thank you for a lovely weekend. We have stayed in many camp ground through out New Zealand over the years but yours would have to be the cleanest camp ground we have ever seen. You keep the grounds and the facilities at a very high standard, well done and thanks again. We will definitely be returning!

Richard and Steph Smith, Christchurch

Overnight stay on the beach

Reviewed 28 Oct 2015

Really enjoyed our stay, except for the traffic noise. It is on the main highway about five minutes south of Kaikoura. It was a very clean and tidy beach park although we were self sufficient we did use their showers and toilets. The staff, Eve, was friendly and efficient and didn't mind a chat. I wanted to photograph the sunrise over the ocean and wasn't disappointed. A bonus was the snow capped mountains which appeared very close. I also took advantage of the dark clear skies and got some snaps of the Milky Way. My word it was cold though! We would be happy to stay here again

Yurgo, Brisbane

Labour Weekend at Peketa Beach

Reviewed 28 Oct 2015

Thanks to all of you who came and enjoyed the long weekend.

Eve

Contact

Address:
Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park
SH1, 7km South of Kaikoura, New Zealand

Facebook

03 319 6299

reservations

03 319 6299

Book Online Enquire
New Zealand Tourism Guide Gold Membership