Reviews Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park

Reviews Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park

Fantastic facilities

Reviewed 25 May 2018

Great place to stay in my motorhome. pp for powered beachfront site with fresh water and picnic table. Fantastic facilities; clean hot showers, toilets, laundry (washing machine 1x coin, drier 1x coin), kitchen, good easy to access dump station and beautiful water from their own artesian source. Also food and drink sold onsite. And fabulous hosts as well. A bit nerve wracking when a southerly gale blasted through one of my 2 nights but the days were crisp and clear. A heavy dusting of snow on the ranges behind made for a lovely sight.

Campermate

This place is amazing. 10/10

Reviewed 17 May 2018

This place is amazing. Have all facilities and staff are very helpful. They even let us have a fire. Amazing seaview and awesome tro eake up to the sun rising. Great food in kaikoura especially if you love seafood yummy.

Raymor

Fabulous welcoming hosts!

Reviewed 17 May 2018

Fabulous welcoming hosts! Impeccably clean and tidy facilities. Tariff is very reasonable and location is beautiful. Thank you for your hospitality. Highly recommend!

Jen Branje

It was very peaceful...

Reviewed 15 May 2018

We stayed 1 night in a powered "premium" beachfront site. These sites are a very short walk to the beach and depending upon the particular spot, may boast a view of the ocean. The woman at the front desk is fantastic. We spoke with her on the phone in order to change our reservation and she was even nicer when we met her in person! We did use the pre-paid Wi-Fi, which was fine. The reception has a small store for some basic food and personal items. It was very peaceful, sleeping to the sounds of the ocean is a delight. The roads were closed from 7p - 7a due to construction and cyclone repairs. That may have added to the peaceful nature of it. A lovely spot (and a short 5 minutes or so to the whale watching departures.)

aps101

We are right in front of the beach!

Reviewed 11 May 2018

Very good campsite with hot shower and friendly staff. In addition we are right in front of the beach!

Campermate

Beautiful setting...

Reviewed 29 Apr 2018

Beautiful setting, we chose a beach front pitch, very nice. Facilities a bit old but well maintained and clean

Campermate

Top place!

Reviewed 28 Apr 2018

Top place! One of the best we visited in 3 weeks. Out of one, three nights! Direct beach place powerd $ 22 pp Several spots with hot showers, laundry and toilets. All clean! I would go there anytime, clear recommendation!

Campermate

Very nice facility

Reviewed 25 Apr 2018

Retired couple from Portland, Maine, USA stayed 1 night in a powered "premium" beachfront site, a few steps from the beach and near the toilet/shower/laundry block. Very clean facility, reasonably roomy sites. We did not use the paid WiFi as the Vodafone SimCard was receiving 3G with no problems. Friendly staff, and though we didn't have any, it was comforting to know the office had hot pies, chips and ice cream available! After freedom camping for 2 nights, we appreciated the hot showers and laundry. Would definitely stay here again, away from the bustle of the town, and listening all night to the surf. No road or train noise, but road is still closed at night for earthquake repairs, so can't comment on how the noise would be with road open. Very nice facility

AnnBT

Most certainly 10/10

Reviewed 25 Apr 2018

A lovely clean, friendly camp with great facilities, right by the rolling surf. a night, nice lady at reception, we stayed here two years ago and I am pleased the standards and cleanliness continue, Most certainly 10/10

Ray Tombs

Will stay here again.

Reviewed 25 Apr 2018

Stayed here three days, site by the beach and handy to facilities. They were a bit dated but on the day we left the roof was being replaced so presume the owners are updating these. Wonderful place to stay and will stay here again

Campermate

What a great place to stay...

Reviewed 23 Apr 2018

Came and stayed here under new owners Rex and Ruth, Well what a great place to stay,facilities all top notch and clean and park is really a park with trees and grassed areas. We had a beachside site and the view from our camper was photo material. Once again thanks Rex and Ruth for our stay we will be back soon. Murray

Campermate

Our favourite camoground in all NZ.

Reviewed 23 Apr 2018

Our favorite campground in all NZ. All facilities Spotless, beachfront, plus very accommodating hosts.

Campermate

Amazing views...

Reviewed 21 Apr 2018

We stayed in a cabin. They were clean and basic. Exactly what we booked and paid for. The showers, toilets and cooking facilities were fantastic. (all be it, on hot plate not working). I would recommend this place to anyone that wants a nice relaxing spot with amazing views and is close to the town but far enough out to be peaceful.

daylespursnz

Will definitely be back.

Reviewed 19 Apr 2018

Stayed here for two nights while we explored Kaikoura, on a beach front site. In the mornings Dolphins were playing in the sea. Lovely. 👍👍 We could easily see them from our back window as we ate breakfast. Huge beach to explore. Will definitely be back.

Campermate

Saw a large pod of dolphins...

Reviewed 19 Apr 2018

Beach front pitch and saw a large pod of dolphins this morning! Check in was very friendly and very clean facilities.

Campermate

Very nice!

Reviewed 15 Apr 2018

We had a beachfront pitch for our camper, very nice! Sanitary facilities were fine, more we did not use

Campermate

Really lovely surroundings...

Reviewed 06 Apr 2018

Just a short drive out from Kaikoura town centre. The showers were good and hot. Really lovely surroundings, right on the beach and the staff were friendly.

Campermate

Staff were so friendly!

Reviewed 03 Apr 2018

Spent 2 nights here and absolutely loved it! Staff were so friendly! Looking forward to many more adventures here

Jayne Hamilton

Location and costs very good.

Reviewed 28 Mar 2018

Location and costs very good. $ 36 for 2 people unpowered with camper. Location right on the sea. You can park right on the beach and look out over the sea. Bathrooms and toilets and kitchen were a bit old, but ok clean. Good place with small deficits in the facilities.

Campermate

Lovely spot! 10/10

Reviewed 28 Mar 2018

Lovely spot! The staff is super nice and for You get a lot of facilities - nice kitchen, lounge, hot showers, laundry. I pitched my tent on the dunes right on to the beach. Highly recommended

Giulia

Beach in front, mountains behind...

Reviewed 26 Mar 2018

Very friendly, welcoming.... New owners have been here just one week. Beautiful location, beach in front, mountains behind. We had a powered site by beach for two, near to loo block with washing up sinks. Showers and toilets clean but dated. Water hot but stopped after about 5 minutes. We didn’t use the kitchen but bought steak pie and chips from reception for supper and ate it on the beach washed down with a bottle of Pinot Noir. Dolphins were swimming and leaping in the bay in the morning... Wonderful, then little boats came with people swimming with the dolphins. What could be nicer?

Campermate

Wow wow & triple wow!!!

Reviewed 25 Mar 2018

Wow wow & triple wow!!! What a beautifully well kept tidy & clean camp this is. for 2 on power site right on the beachfront. Free showers nice & big & roomy. Washing load & 2 different driers at & . Everything well signposted so very easy to find site even in dark. Great little camp store with lots of bits & pieces. Easy dump station. Water taps at your site. Fully equipped kitchen & bbq if you require it. Friendly staff. I really recommend this camp. We will be back one day! 👍👍😀

Campermate

We were lulled to sleep by the rolling waves...

Reviewed 22 Mar 2018

Friendly welcome to a lovely place out of town right on the beach. Calm and relaxed staff solved my mistake of parking up on B1 not B2 with a quick stroke of tippex. 2 x Pie and Chips prepared for 6.30pm collection solved any dining concerns and we enjoyed them on the picnic table that adjoins each campervan space. 21st March 2018 the SH1 was closed for the ongoing earthquake repair work so traffic is diverted via SH70 so no passing traffic. We were lulled to sleep by the rolling waves hitting the beach. Toilet, shower and laundry facilities all very clean. Perfect send off was a pod of dolphins appearing just 100 m off the beach on our departure so keep your eyes peeled. John n Gill Cardiff UK We loved our 1 night stay.

John Cashman

Good facilities, super friendly.

Reviewed 18 Mar 2018

for one person walking with a tent. Beautiful beach, saw dolphins swimming in the sea. Good facilities, super friendly and kind lady at reception, some spots bare and rocky where campers have been a lot but lots and lots ofcomfy and grassy spots too. Easy hitching spots outside the gates either side the road to kaikoura town and south.

Campermate

Uninterrupted view over the beach.

Reviewed 13 Mar 2018

2 adults on a powered pitch mid March. We had a lovely stay, mainly due to the uninterrupted view over the beach and gorgeous weather. Facilities in good working order - although showers are push button operated, which is annoying for washing hair etc. My partner informs me we also had to pay to use the dump station hose? Stay here instead of in town, quieter, more spacious and better value for money.

S Weslake

We had a good time here

Reviewed 11 Mar 2018

We stayed here for three nights, one night in a basic cabin and two in our own tent. The spaces are large enough and the beach is very nearby. There are three buildings with all the amenities you need. It is pretty basic, clean and we had a good time here. We spotted also playing dolphins right in front of the campsite. Due to the closure of SH1 at night it was quiet during the night. Otherwise you will hear the traffic. Also the local airport is nearby. This place is a good alternative for the more crowded campsites at Kaikoura.

Jeroen B

We loved this park!!!

Reviewed 06 Mar 2018

We loved this park!! It was so beautiful and just steps from the beach. They had an incredible children's park that was reminiscent of days gone by. I highly recommended staying here.

Kat Zaworonok

Brilliant

Reviewed 04 Mar 2018

totally brilliant view right by the sea, in our van, great guy at the desk and really cheap. very clean toilets and showers. love how the mens shower had disco lights in the shower head. (not the i went into them, just a report from hubby).

ginnys38

Outdoor games area a nice touch! 9/10

Reviewed 27 Feb 2018

This site is all that it says on the info. Easy drive to Kaikoura, but lots to do with beach so close. Deeply shelving beach and rough sea not too good for children. Brilliant site facilities, kitchen and dining area. Outdoor games area a nice touch! Well stocked shop, but best of all was the cooked to order pie and chips in the evening! Pity about the constant noise of helicopters overhead.

Nathaniel Bond

Friendly... 10/10

Reviewed 26 Feb 2018

Friendly and helpful reception. Good wi-fi. small shop sold essential items, and best of all, Pie and Chips to order in the evenings! Several small shower blocks for different areas of the site; clean and water hot. Play area for children and adults. I enjoyed beating my husband at the giant 4-in-a-Row! Site exit straight onto the beach. Flip-flops required as the sand was too hot to walk on. Steeply shelving beach good for surfers and strong swimmers, but not so good for children. Pity about the constant noise of helicopters overhead during the day. Short drive to Kakoura, but well worth being outside town for the facilities and the beach.

Helen Bond

Loved this holliday park...

Reviewed 26 Feb 2018

Loved this holiday park , very cosy , met some amazing people. Staff at the reception/ shop were brilliant very friendly, chatty and helpful

Nicola Hedley

Kid friendly facilities... 9/10

Reviewed 24 Feb 2018

Fantastic location with powered sites right on the beach. Kid friendly facilities with flying fox, mini golf and playground. The bathrooms are clean and the showers have piping hot water. Highly recommended!

Kelvin Ng

Very spacious!

Reviewed 24 Feb 2018

Very spacious! Good and numberous facilities, toilets and showers very clean. Stayed two nights (good hang out for Dolphin Encounter/shelter for cyclone Gita), good working wifi available. Kaikoura at 10 min. Car drive; also reachable with the closing/road works of SH 1 via the Inland Road!

Campermate

I really like this place.

Reviewed 13 Feb 2018

I really like this place. It’s got character. The ladies in the office are extremely friendly. There are plenty of things for the kids to do including beach combing, mini golf, a playground, and a flying fox. The kitchen is basic and the restroom are clean. The laundry is reasonably priced. We were able to watch dolphins swimming not more than 20 meters off shore in front of our camp. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Dan Duncan

Saw lots of dolphins...

Reviewed 09 Feb 2018

Really nice campsite by the beach where we saw lots of dolphins jumping around ! Clean facilities, lots of space.

Campermate

Stunning sunsets...

Reviewed 06 Feb 2018

We stayed recently , welcomed with friendly staff at the office. Lots of space and options for tents, we found a great spot right near the beach. Showers, toilets and kitchen were always clean and immaculate. Stunning sunsets, delicious sour dough bread from the office made fresh😊. Beautiful spot!

Campermate

Had the beach to myself for a morning swim!

Reviewed 27 Jan 2018

Perfect location absolute beachfront. Nice beach at a good water temp. Had the beach to myself for a morning swim! Super friendly staff, shop food at a bargain price, very clean, disco lights on the shower head when the water comes on! Great price for cabins for 2 of us. Older property with great facilities. Highly reccomend it

Steve Symon

Most pleasant beachfront spot

Reviewed 23 Jan 2018

Most pleasant beachfront spot. Ample room private and peaceful. Good facilities.. Will be back again (3rd time here). Pleasant on shore breeze in a humid weather place this time if year. Great to see the camp with more occupants post the earthquake. The area is one if the many South Islands Gems.

Geoff A

Friendly clean facilities

Reviewed 21 Jan 2018

Quick stop over with the tent as accommodation. Nice camp sites. Friendly clean facilities. Great shower and excellent kitchen facilities including freezers to freeze water bottles etc for the good old chillibin.

hills_forestdale

Friendly and helpful hosts.

Reviewed 20 Jan 2018

Lovely campsite with beautiful views and access to the beach. Great facilities that were clean and tidy. Friendly and helpful hosts.

Juliet Dagnall

Just a beautifu setting

Reviewed 20 Jan 2018

This is a great place to stay - south of the main township of Kaikoura, but set right on the beach. Amenities are fine, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Picnic tables set up for eating at, again right near the beach. Just a beautiful setting.

Campermate

Thanks for the music...

Reviewed 16 Jan 2018

Was our first time with caravan and two grand kids. They just loved it. Thanks for the music in shower rooms after day with kids could have stay in there for couple of hours lol for relaxing. All clean thanks guys...will be back

Elizabeth Clarke

Beautiful view of the sea

Reviewed 14 Jan 2018

Large campsite with a beautiful view of the sea (we were in campervan and had a nice place even arriving late). It is quiet and only a 10 minute drive from Kaikoura. The price is a bit high but like everywhere in the area. The kitchen is well equipped at the plates and sinks, no need to wait a long time even if there are many people. .

Campermate

Lovely relaxing stay.

Reviewed 10 Jan 2018

Spent two nights here in a camp sight. Managed to get a site right by the beach with a little walkway taking us there. Amazing to fall asleep listening to the sounds of the ocean! The staff were super friendly and happy to have a joke/conversation. Facilities were very nice and clean. Would recommend to anyone needing a place in Kaikoura.

sarahporter94

Definitely recommend.

Reviewed 10 Jan 2018

Great place right on the beach. A small shop with camping and fishing essentials. Definitely recommend.

Ray Peters

Loved the beachfront tent sites!

Reviewed 04 Jan 2018

Fantastic park - thanks for the great stay! Clean facilities and friendly staff. Loved the beachfront tent sites!

Jesse Brian

This is our new favourite place in the world.

Reviewed 03 Jan 2018

Fantastic. This is our new favourite place in the world. We've met some lovely people. A few first timers, like us, and others that have been coming here from between 5 years and 30 years! We'll be coming back!

Ruthie Emeny

Was just perfect for the kids.

Reviewed 03 Jan 2018

Spent three days here with the relatives. Powered caravan site. Was just perfect for the kids. Space was a little tight but that was due to the Christmas holidays. Great helpful staff like the grounds men Dave and Phil means we’ll be back. Toughest crazy golf too. Great showers too.

DarthFD

Really well maintained facilities.

Reviewed 03 Jan 2018

Stayed 2/1/18 - stayed on Powersite near beach. v. Friendly staff, and really well maintained facilities. Managed to get a spot with only a few hours notice. Super quiet at night - highly recommended. (Agree ATV’s on beach are annoying, but didn’t inconvenience us).

Campermate

Certainly a place I wil be returning to.

Reviewed 31 Dec 2017

Clean park where the staff and owners will literally give you the shirt off their backs to make your stay both enjoyable and as relaxing as can be. The Toilets and facilities are clean, tidy and add to an enjoyable stay. The shop there is reasonably priced to the point where there is little point If any to head into the town. Fishing equipment and bait can be purchased at the office and the knowledge of the surrounding area is awesome. Certainly a place that I will be returning to.

Jayde Rangi Wilkinson

Definitely a place to be.

Reviewed 30 Dec 2017

Definitely a place to be. Great staff and good vibes campers. Amazing site. Huge site. Plenty to do. Thanx guys. And cheers for the gas burner.

Geneva Moana

Plenty of privacy...

Reviewed 29 Dec 2017

The wife and I stayed here our first night campervanning in the South Island. Great location and clean facilities. Laundry worked very well too. Plenty of privacy and the seal colony is a short drive away.

E Sadlak

Fantastic amenities.

Reviewed 24 Dec 2017

Lovely quiet campsite with fantastic amenities. V clean and close to a lovely stony beach. Close to the road but you don't hear any traffic at night. Was there with a 16month old and she loved it! Thanks!

Campermate

One of the best...

Reviewed 22 Dec 2017

One of the best places so far. Friendly staff, nice guests, clean facilities. Beach is just behind a dune. Definitely the best location for your stay in Kaikoura!

Campermate

Easily the most picturesque park.

Reviewed 18 Dec 2017

We visited the big name parks in Kaikoura and came back here. Easily the most picturesque park. Lovely to see and hear the sea. Yes you do have helicopters flying overhead helping with the roadworks but we found it interesting to watch. Very clean facilities. Great fish & chips at Coopers Catch in town and a lovely little op shop too!

Campermate

Nice clean park.

Reviewed 13 Dec 2017

Nice clean park. Friendly staff. Pretty much on the beach. Great cooking facilities too. Try and get up early for the sunrise. Fishing was also great from the beach. Will definitely stay in the future.

Lisa Baxter Moore

Right on the beach... 10/10

Reviewed 11 Dec 2017

Great place right on the beach just before you get to Kaikoura. Nice showers after an 8 hour drive from Picton although having to press a button outside the shower to get it to start was a bit odd. Receptionist was brilliant when we got lost and almost got stuck on sh1!

Jack James

Awesome place.

Reviewed 04 Dec 2017

Awesome place. No complaints. True kiwi area with great bbq facilities

Stuart Inglis

Excellent place to stay

Reviewed 03 Dec 2017

Excellent place to stay, owners very friendly and helpful. Beautiful large beachfront sites, lots of privacy, just 10m to the beach. Very clean facilities! Sometimes you can spot dolphins in the bay.

Michael Lo

Quiet...

Reviewed 28 Nov 2017

Quiet campsite located directly on the beach. Sanitary facilities were clean. The showers warm :)

Campermate

Great for families.

Reviewed 18 Nov 2017

Great site great location and great for families. Right on the beach. Showers and facilities clean, shop for all your needs would definitely stay here again.

Ashton Duerden

Great place!

Reviewed 15 Nov 2017

Great place! Gorgeous sunrise over the beach, quiet and spacious, all amenities available (except you do need your own pots and pans to cook), and friendly owner!

Cathy Hancock

Very nice, good atmosphere!

Reviewed 13 Nov 2017

Very nice, good atmosphere! Toilet, shower and clean kitchen !! for $ 18 I recommend !!! Not to mention its great location by the sea

Campermate

Would highly recommend!

Reviewed 05 Nov 2017

I've been here a few times now (camping in tents and powered camper van site) and I love this place! Very short stroll to the beach, great views, clean showers and bathrooms. The staff has always (!) been exceptional friendly and we can take our dog along as well! Would highly recommend!

Campermate

Great location

Reviewed 05 Nov 2017

Great location on the beach. Very clean and spacious pitches.

Evelyn Koch

Amazing Views...

Reviewed 30 Oct 2017

This park puts others to shame if you are looking for awesome beach views. The park isn’t huge, which we really liked. It’s a bit out of town from Kaikoura but we had a camper van so picking up and driving to town was easy. We had a powered beach front site and it was unbelievable. We enjoyed sunset on the beach each night and watched the sunrise from our bed each morning. Bathrooms and showers are well kept. We didn’t use the kitchen but it looked nice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. One lady offered some great advice on getting out of the city and info on our next location. She was awesome. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is going to be in the area. Make sure you get a beach front site. It’s totally worth it.

BeckySue

Great facilities...

Reviewed 21 Oct 2017

Great facilities in the powered area which were always clean and well stocked. Great playgrounds for kids and a fire for toasting marshmallows!!!

Daisy Daisy

Would definitely come again!

Reviewed 10 Oct 2017

We were camping when the weather took a turn for the worse and the lovely lady here was so helpful in sorting out a cabin for us! Super close to the beach and awesome people running it :) would definitely come again!

jdat13

Great campground!

Reviewed 08 Oct 2017

Great campground! Good sanitary facilities, wonderful pitches right above the beach. Would come again at any time!

Campermate

Very very nice campsite.

Reviewed 27 Sep 2017

Very very nice campsite. Much better than in Kaikoura directly. Pitches with a direct view of the sea. Sanitary facilities very clean. Friendly owners and in bad weather you can play Minigolf. Come here! :-)

Campermate

Amazing facilities!

Reviewed 25 Sep 2017

Amazing facilities! Incredibly clean bathrooms, great showers, cooking area with all you need (toaster, kettle, sandwich press etc), lounge area with tv, computer and books! Staff was super friendly and sites have the best views of the ocean compared to nearby campsites. Definitely worth the pp!!

Campermate

Lovely campsite...

Reviewed 07 Aug 2017

Lovely campsite has everything you need. It's right on the beach so we got to see a beautiful sunrise. The owner is very friendly and helpful! Oh and the radio station they got playing was great too!!

Danielle Incledon

This favourite campsite...

Reviewed 02 Jul 2017

This is my favorite campsite and trust me I've been to many! Really nice location, 5 min from the town center of Kaikoura. The staff is super helpful with everything. Amazingly clean bathrooms, very well equipped kitchen! Plus point for the music in the bathroom :)

Campermate

Love it...

Reviewed 14 May 2017

Love it...still the best holiday camp, kaikoura still the best holiday town..go check it out and take your mountain bike.

Marciatiria Marriott

Fantastic shower blocks... 10/10

Reviewed 10 May 2017

Fantastic shower blocks, clean, quiet, organised, grounds well maintained. Staff friendly and go the extra mile. Love hearing the waves crashing at night. Worth the drive out of Kaikoura centre to stay here. No evidence that an earthquake had occurred apart front helicopters hovering over coast road. Great camp.

S Durning

Would highly recommend...

Reviewed 02 May 2017

Would highly recommend people to go and stay here. Wonderful people run the camp.

Deano Debbie McFarlane

I enjoyed our overnight stay...

Reviewed 06 Apr 2017

I enjoyed our overnight stay. Caught up with the necessities of life. The laundry was clean and tidy as was the showers and the toilets. Awesome showers by the way. It was really interesting watching the helicoptet's sluicing the hills trying to open State Highway 1 after really bad weather hit a few hours after it had been reopened. I wandered down to the beach and saw a seal sleeping on the grass. Manager was friendly.

Jenny Josephs

Great facilities. 9/10

Reviewed 05 Apr 2017

Great facilities. Especially the showers. Beautiful location. Lovely staff

Tanya Davies

Excellent campground...

Reviewed 29 Mar 2017

Excellent campground, very clean and tidy throughout. Camp hosts were very nice and friendly. Awesome spot located right on the beachside. Even got a surf down the beach. Loved our stay and will hopefully be back one day.

Campermate

"What a Fabulous Location"

Reviewed 24 Mar 2017

Just far enough out of town to immerse yourself in seaside tranquility. This park is the only one in Kiakoura which has a beachfront and is only a short drive from the main town. We enjoyed sunset drinks, dolphins, beach walks and stargazing at this beautiful location. Friendly and very accommodating staff. We loved this place so much we extended our stay. My husband particularly enjoyed the disco lights in one of the shower heads. Would I stay there again? Definitely!

Louisa K

The most beautiful place

Reviewed 13 Mar 2017

The most beautiful place on our whole tour with the camper van in the South Island!! It's situated right at the sea (we had spot n° 17) and you can hear the waves at night. Showers were super clean. There is enough hot water. Everything is taking great care of. We would have like to spend a few more days here and are sure to come back.

Reviewed 13 Mar 17

Very nice campsite right at the beach!

Reviewed 07 Mar 2017

Very nice campsite right at the beach! We watched dolphins during breakfast at our sea view spot. Close to Kaikoura, super friendly staff, clean facilities and fresh baked bread available. Highly recommended!!

Reviewed 7 March 17

"Gorgeous location

Reviewed 20 Mar 2017

"Gorgeous location--easy bike ride into Kaikoura" Great campground that is sadly (good for us) under utilized due to the quake and traffic changes. Great 8 km of beach (we saw 4 people on it) and an easy 7 km bike ride to town for any of the tours. Showers and washrooms immaculate--ALL of the staff were warm friendly and helpful. Kaikoura is rebounding but see it now so you can see it later-Gorgeous setting in every direction while standing in awe of the power of nature (and the strength of people)

Erik B

Our favourite campsite in NZ!

Reviewed 06 Mar 2017

Our favourite campsite in NZ! So so beautiful & we were able to camp so close to the beach. Only 10 mins into Kaikoura. Clean showers & toilets and good kitchen. Also has a great mini golf course. Reception staff really helpful.

Reviewed 6 Mar 17

Great campsite

Reviewed 28 Feb 2017

Great campsite with very friendly owners, clean facilities, good price for the quality it offers. There are tent sites right next to the beach where you can fall asleep with the sound of the ocean :-) and there is is a cool swinging boat (also fun for adults;-). Definitely would come again! one of the nicest campsites within 5 weeks of travelling also as of surrounding scenery - dolphins playing on the beach in the morning :-)

Reviewed 28 Feb 17

"Fabulous "

Reviewed 11 Feb 2017

Loved this camp. Not flat out in February but it deserves to be. Plenty of room on site which we really appreciate. Over being squashed in like sardines. Beachfront was perfect. Lulled asleep by sound of waves. Friendly helpful staff. Amenities very clean, attractive and well maintained. . Great to see recycling being practised and codes to acess the shower block are an excellent idea.

Di A

One of the best campsites we've been to

Reviewed 21 Feb 2017

One of the best campsites we've been to. Nice owners! We had a problem with our car ca. 1 km away from the campsite and the owner towed us away with his tractor, helped us build a ramp and lend us his tools! Kitchen and bathroom are functional and clean, if 15 min light and 7 min hot water are not enough for you, you might consider taking a hotel...

Reviewed 21 Feb 17

"Our Fave Place"

Reviewed 07 Feb 2017

We always return here to camp as we have done for the last few years. A powered tent site. Facilities are always clean and tidy, the location is great, close to South Bay and only a few minutes drive into Kaikoura Township. Real Fruit Ice Creams are delish! Was great to see the park humming at Waitangi weekend. The benefit for us is that we are always able to take our dog with us. Drift off to sleep with the sound of the ocean. Plenty of beach for everyone to enjoy.

budgieboogie

Favourite Campsite

Reviewed 08 Feb 2017

Favourite Campsite of my wife and one of the best also for me and our daughter in whole NZ. Clean, nice little playground,great flying fox. Beach with great view over the whole bay and some seals just a short stroll up. Very friendly and helpfull staff (owners) Great real fruit ice cream, my favorite.

Reviewed 8 Feb 17

SUPER beautiful place

Reviewed 04 Feb 2017

Everything is perfect 100%. Thanks for your effort. To be able to watch dolphins during breakfast - what could be nicer!!! Shower with hot water, everything designed with love. Fantastic, we love this place

Reviewed 4 Feb 17

"Stunning beachfront location!"

Reviewed 01 Feb 2017

I have stayed at this Holiday Park twice and it has a great location with beachfront pitches and the Kaikoura mountain range as a backdrop. Nothing beats drifting off to sleep to the sound of waves which are literally on your doorstep. Get up early and you will witness some stunning sunrises and in the evening there are photo opportunities galore as the sun sets behind the mountains. There is a bench at the beach which is a great place to sip a coffee and welcome the morning after a walk along the black volcanic sands. The first time I stayed I saw dolphins playing in the waves close to the shore. This is a dog friendly campground with some chilled out pooches soaking up the relaxed atmosphere with their owners. We stayed in a camper and found the facilities of the shower block and sinks clean and tidy.

Swallow73

"Great place to stay"

Reviewed 14 Jan 2017

Jan 14, 2017Reviewed by NickiGS An excellent holiday park right on the beach! All the facilities you need are right here. Clean toilets and showers. A kitchen and laundry with a well maintained Park and recycling bays to make it easier. A beautiful spot to stay.

NickiGS

Great campsite

Reviewed 18 Jan 2017

Great campsite right on the beach ..... Definitely the best site around Kiakora very friendly and very quiet at the moment due to road closures! good shop and helpful staff.

Reviewed 18 Jan 17

"Stay Here.!!! "

Reviewed 02 Jan 2017

Highly recommend staying at the Peketa Holiday Camp, the owners are so accomodating and friendly. The camp itself is so clean, looked after and homely. The views from some of the tenting sites are incredible, we were lucky enough to watch dolphins play straight out from our tent, truly amazing. We wouldn't want to be anywhere else while staying and exploring Kaikoura. A fantastic experience, thank you.!

Bexx1986

Very nice campsite

Reviewed 27 Dec 2016

Very nice campsite close to Kaikoura and you can camp next to the beach. Good facilities, nice hot showers, kitchen with a lovely place to sit outside but there are also places inside. The owner was very friendly and we felt very welcoming! Laundry (hot) 2$ and dryer also 2$ but you should use it twice. Wifi is good and i highly recommend this campsite.

Reviewed 27 Dec 16

Very nice campsite

Reviewed 27 Dec 2016

Very nice campsite close to Kaikoura and you can camp next to the beach. Good facilities, nice hot showers, kitchen with a lovely place to sit outside but there are also places inside. The owner was very friendly and we felt very welcoming! Laundry (hot) 2$ and dryer also 2$ but you should use it twice. Wifi is good and i highly recommend this campsite.

Reviewed 27 Dec 16

"Wonderful friendly campground"

Reviewed 07 Dec 2016

We stopped here in our camper van as we toured South Island NZ. What a wonderful and friendly place right on the beach. Heartbroken to hear of the recent earthquake. We hope for all the best to the owners and local businesses for a quick recovery.

Dorothy A

"Awesome" 5/5

Reviewed 23 Nov 2016

I spent two nights at this facility about a week before the big earthquake that was national news in Nov 2016. I sure hope they are able to recover quickly as Kaikura was my favorite location in the country. I had mistakenly made reservations for Dec 2016 instead of Nov, but the host had plenty of room and set me up with a great site - 200 meters from the Pacific Ocean on the backside and a beautiful view of the Kaikura Range on the front - I didn't know which way to look! It's about 8km south of Kaikura, but not too far out of the way. very quiet and relaxing location! Highly recommend.

Mark C

Great! More than great!!

Reviewed 09 Nov 2016

Clean showers/toilets, friendly people, awesome camping spot right at the beach, fair price (36 unpowered for 2, including hot shower and fast internet). The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the minigolf - very bumpy and random..

09 Nov 2016

"Family getaway" 4/5

Reviewed 16 Oct 2016

First time me and my family stayed here and it was great ! Great value for money. We stayed in the cabins . Great bbq area toliets are nice and clean .Everyone is so sweet of the campground and you feel super safe :) definitely recommended !

Reviewed by Monida C

"A wonderful stay" 5/5

Reviewed 15 Oct 2016

This holiday park has exceeded our expectations in every area. The powered caravan sites were close to the toilets and there was a playground for children. Our site was close to the beach and we even saw a whale frolicking not far from the coast. All amenities were quite clean and well serviced. On top of that, the receptionist was extremely nice and gave us information about the area, including where to see seals. It was a wonderful stay at Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by dabawu

"A wonderful stay" 5/5

Reviewed 15 Oct 2016

This holiday park has exceeded our expectations in every area. The powered caravan sites were close to the toilets and there was a playground for children. Our site was close to the beach and we even saw a whale frolicking not far from the coast. All amenities were quite clean and well serviced. On top of that, the receptionist was extremely nice and gave us information about the area, including where to see seals. It was a wonderful stay at Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by dabawu

Once again, a great stay” 4/5

Reviewed 05 Oct 2016

Friendly welcome, accommodating, clean and tidy, great location. Good facilities. Absolute beachfront. Approx 8km from the kaikoura township but has the long beach directly in front of the camp - perfect for beach walks although not a swimming beach. Some sites have excellent sea views, others don't but are more sheltered. We keep coming back here and will continue to do so. Recommend. Stayed October 2016, traveled as a couple

frankiethe

A place like Home 5 stars

Reviewed 04 Sep 2016

Stayed here twice this year, once in April and again in September. This camp feels like home ! my favourite in NZ

Emilie & Michel

Love this spot 5 Sars

Reviewed 15 Aug 2016

Love this spot - fantastic for our family of energetic children. Very clean facilities, love being able to light a fire on the beach. Awesome to see dolphins right from the beach.

Karen & Alex Martin

Great Stay - 4 stars

Reviewed 26 Jul 2016

We had such a great stay at Peketa Beach, Corrine is a real asset to your business! She was lovely! So helpful and happy to offer local knowledge and advice.

Kelly Cameron

"Best spot on Kaikoura Coast" 5 of 5 stars

Reviewed 26 Jul 2016

What a great place to stay, close to the beach, clean and tidy facilities and great staff. Not the newest of flashest but a great friendly, safe place to stay with the beach at your doorstep, will definitely be back

mikej877

"Awesome spot"

Reviewed 18 Jul 2016

5 of 5 stars May 15, 2016 Great place to park up the caravan for a few days & relax watching the waves! Stayed a few times now with our little dog & love the quick easy service at reception! Clean & tidy grounds with everything you need - small shop at reception, playground for kids, free hot showers, table/chairs & water taps beside all powered sites. We will definitely be back!!

Tony R

Perfect location 4/5 stars

Reviewed 08 Jun 2016

Perfect location, stayed right on the seafront. Great facilities, friendly staff and fun unexpected extras like the flying fox.

Pete

Great Staff

Reviewed 08 Jun 2016

Very helpful staff and very welcoming. Really amazing facilities. Well worth the money.

Lee

Nice place

Reviewed 08 Jun 2016

Nice place, tidy facilities, great internet, great view!. Honest price. Thankyou

Alizob 2 JC Ogier

Nice place

Reviewed 08 Jun 2016

Nice place, tidy facilities, great internet, great view!. Honest price. Thankyou

Alizob 2 JC Ogier

Just awesome 5 stars

Reviewed 08 Jul 2016

As we drove by years ago we have been here regularly as we travel to & from Blenheim. Just awesome. Friendly, clean, easy going and cheapest laundry in the country.

Reviewed 30 May

Camp was nice

Reviewed 08 Jul 2016

Camp was nice, WiFi was excellent. We had a powered hard site on the beach front which was nice as the beach is beautiful. Staff friendly. Facilities very clean and 5 min shower (which you start from the outside of the cabin) was enough. We heard the traffic from the road but slept without problem.

Reviewed 23 June

Excellent camp ground

Reviewed 08 Jul 2016

Excellent camp ground. Highly recommended

Reviewd 4 June

Stayed here in March... Nice beach campground..

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Stayed here in March... Nice beach campground.. Short drive to Kaikoura stayed in my van next to beach even went fishing off beach and caught fish for dinner.. Good showers good bbq's small kitchen.. Recommended and thankyou to friendly host.

10 May 2016

Nice location.

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Nice location. 5 min from Kaikoura. Sites with beach views. Very friendly Staff. Facilities are clean. Just don't forget to bring your own pans etc to the kitchen. Cookers, microwave and toasters available and nice sofa's and picnic tables. Good value for money. for 2p on non powered site. Highly recommended.

Reviews 5 Mar 16

Great beach front spot

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Great beach front spot. Perfect for sunrises. Good quality free showers. Helpful staff. Would recommend.

04 May 2016

Beautiful park with lots to do!

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Beautiful park with lots to do! The kitchen is small but compact, radio in showers. The view of the ocean is absolutely amazing and the lady at reception is so helpful and kind. So worth a nights stay! 40 for powered site for 2 people or 44 for powered site for beach side view (close walk either way!)

Reviewed 03 May 2016

Great spot

Reviewed 13 May 2016

Great spot, with good facilities, kitchen was great. You can hear a bit of road traffic but seeing dolphins from the beach in the morning was awesome and made it well worth it :)

Reviewed 29 April 2016

Very good location

Reviewed 13 May 2016

Very good location, perfect for stopping before/after visiting Kaikoura. Really friendly staff, clean facilities, a bit small kitchen, nice bbq for (2 person, non-powered tent site). You can also see dolphins in the morning.

Reviews 13 April 16

Lovely View

Reviewed 13 May 2016

Perfect reception, lovely view and direct access to the beach with possibility of sighting dolphins with a bit of luck and getting up early. Definitely recommended!

Reviews 1 April 16

Fantastic Location 10/10

Reviewed 11 Apr 2016

Fantastic location. You can pretty much camp on the beach and there's a great point break. Perfect peeling waves with pretty much no one on them!! We stayed here 2 nights.

Chadd Holland

Very beautiful place

Reviewed 11 Apr 2016

Very beautiful place, on eof the best during our round trip. Sanitary facilities are very good, with music in the bathroom. In the evenings you can do a beautiful beach walk. Perfect starting point for whale watching.

Reviewed 01 April 16

Beautiful holiday park

Reviewed 11 Apr 2016

Beautiful holiday park, very friendly great facilities well priced right on the beach and only 5 mins from kaikoura town. Would stay again ????

Reviewed 23 March 2016

Great place

Reviewed 11 Apr 2016

Great place, the best camping we did currently. Very clean, hosts top. We can see dolphins from the beach locations. 10min of Kaikoura. I recommend.

Reviewed 2nd March 16

Second visit, good value, great spot

Reviewed 20 Mar 2016

On the outskirts of Kaikoura a good campground. We visited here last year to pitch a tent and this year we booked a cabin. Shared facilities were spotless. Great beach location. Small well equipped shop on site. Will book again. Easy to find its just off the main State Highway.

Marcia Haigh

Value for Money 5/5

Reviewed 17 Mar 2016

Stayed here 2 Nights. In my 6 months in nz I think this campsite has the most bang for buck. 18 bucks for 1 adult, comes with showers, kitchen, barbecue area and unbeatable beachfront views. Well worth it.

Ryan Yung

A lovely clean camp 10/10

Reviewed 17 Mar 2016

A lovely clean camp, nice lady at reception, nice and peaceful, reasonable rate at a night, we'll go again one day.

Ray & Cynthia

Beautifully clean 5/5

Reviewed 16 Mar 2016

Beautifully clean, easy parking for caravans, friendly staff

Dawn & Ray Murray

Beautiful Campground

Reviewed 14 Mar 2016

Absolutely beautiful campground, we could stay with our van just next to the beach. Clean facilities and I really appreciated the radio in the shower :)

Reviews 6 Mar

Beautiful campground

Reviewed 27 Feb 2016

For me this was one of the most beautiful campgrounds as well, the location is beautiful, the place is neat and at the same time you feel like in real nature with the sites at the sea. We could watch dolphins directly from "our" beach area.

Reviewd 26 Feb 16

Site right at the beach

Reviewed 27 Feb 2016

Natural site right at stone- and sand beach, dolphins in the sea, and fur seal was sleeping on the beach. Playground with high slide, flying fox,... Laundry: 2$ Warm shower inclusive Personally: one of the most beautiful camps.

Reviewed 17 Feb 16

Right by the beach

Reviewed 27 Feb 2016

You may see seals on the nearby beach. Right by the beach ,so the view is very beatiful. 68NZD for 3 of us at a powered site. About 10 minutes'drive from the town.

Reviewed 15 Feb 16

Great sport for the night

Reviewed 27 Feb 2016

Great spot for the night. A bit pricey at altogether for one night unpowered. Great clean facilities. Laundry and dryers. Lovely grass areas and plenty of space.

Reviewed 13 Feb 16

Wonderful Spot

Reviewed 20 Feb 2016

Wonderful spot right next to the beach. Best campsite in NZ so far!!

Reviewed 04 Feb 2016

Beauiful Campsite

Reviewed 18 Feb 2016

When we were there the weather was bad, but this seems to be the most beautiful campsite on the South Island anyway. $ 20 pp for a powered site, right next to the sea. Just perfect. Facilities were clean, super friendly staff and helped us with pots, great kitchen, a BBQ was missing and it was quite dark at night. All in all still great. We would have liked to stay longer, if the weather would have been better.

Reviewed 4th Feb 2016

Excellent

Reviewed 09 Feb 2016

Excellent Great Facilities so clean, Beautiful view of the beach and we saw the dolphins.

Michael

Awesome Kiwi Camping 5/5

Reviewed 30 Jan 2016

We went camping in tents and while it is the busy time of year there was plenty of space in this huge camp ground. Staff were friendly. The campgrounds were tidy and well maintained. Love the playground for children and the kitchen and bathrooms are nice and clean. Also love that they play music in the bathrooms and that there were enough well spaced rubbish bins all over the campground. The only thing we would do different next time is to choose a spot a bit further from the road as the big trucks at night was quite noisy when passing the campground but I am a light sleeper too. Over all a great experience and we will be back.

Carien V

Great Site

Reviewed 30 Jan 2016

Great site! We had a powered spot right by the beach, lovely views. Only 5 minute drive into town. The showers & toilets were clean & well looked after. Free hot showers. Good laundry area. Lovely helpful lady on reception. We didn't want to leave.

Reviewed 26 Jan 16

Thank you

Reviewed 30 Jan 2016

We would have called in but we wet. We all really enjoyed our holiday at your camp. The staff we're really great, the facilities were always clean even if it was busy. So thank you again. We will be back.

Eggers Family

Great campsite

Reviewed 24 Jan 2016

Great campsite, very nice and helpful reception, good and clean ablutions, toilets and kitchen. The site is spaciously laid out, we took a spot right at the beach, 2 people and a powered site for $ 44, 24 hours wifi 10 GB . I can recommend this campsite.

Stayed Jan 15

Beautiful camp site

Reviewed 17 Jan 2016

Beautiful camp site, toilets were clean and the site has plenty of space for the kids to run around. The beach was amazing and was only a 30 second walk away. Loved this camp site, recommend it to all!

Anonymous

Beachfront Site

Reviewed 17 Jan 2016

Well worth the extra for the beachfront site. Definitely a better choice than motor camps closer to town. Kids loved the flying fox.

Unknown

"On The Beach"

Reviewed 15 Jan 2016

A large but well maintained campground on the edge of the beach south of Kaikoura. We pitched our tent on a beach front spot just over the dunes... you fall asleep to the sound of the waves. Blissful. There is plenty of room for everyone and it has quieter areas if you want to be away from everything. Plenty of access paths to get to the facility blocks etc. Playgrounds, flying fox and mini golf for the kids. Our neighbors got asked to turn their music down by the management and they are very vigilant about keeping the site tidy, recycling emptied, and facilities cleaned. Will definitely be going back!

angharadvr

Happy New Year To Everyone

Reviewed 30 Dec 2015

The park is well and truly humming, Kids playing non stop, making new friends, parents kicking back enjoying the outdoors, BBQ's galore and lots of laughter and happiness. Thanks to everyone for making it such a fantastic place to stay.

Eve

Thanks alot

Reviewed 19 Nov 2015

Thanks a lot for your tips and help. We had a wonderful stay and saw a lot of dolphins

Sandrina Jochemsen

“Sunrise, the ocean, whales, dolphins, seabirds and smooth, flat stones ...”

Reviewed 30 Oct 2015

4 of 5 stars Reviewed: We have just spent two idyllic days at this seaside motor camp with spectacular mountain views to the west and the ocean pounding on to the shore to the east, just 100m from our campsite. We gazed in awe as hundreds of dolphins played as they fed on shoals of fish, sea birds floated in formation to get their share, and whales surfaced in the distance. We walked the beach, across scattered flat round stones and coarse sand to near the water's edge. Undertow itself was spectacular too and a strong deterrent from swimming. But the sea was magnificent, pounding on to the beach. Walking was easy and the whole experience mesmerising. The sunrise on our second morning was unbelievably beautiful. Soft glow to brilliant! This campsite is one of the most memorable we have visited. Camping sites are large and the facilities clean and all we needed. We shall return whenever we travel south on the coast road.. This camping ground is easily missed so watch out for it, just a few kilometres south of Kaikoura. It is a wonderful place to stay!!!

Julie M

Definitely be returning

Reviewed 30 Oct 2015

Good morning! We stayed with you over the weekend and would like to thank you for a lovely weekend. We have stayed in many camp ground through out New Zealand over the years but yours would have to be the cleanest camp ground we have ever seen. You keep the grounds and the facilities at a very high standard, well done and thanks again. We will definitely be returning!

Richard and Steph Smith, Christchurch

Overnight stay on the beach

Reviewed 28 Oct 2015

Really enjoyed our stay, except for the traffic noise. It is on the main highway about five minutes south of Kaikoura. It was a very clean and tidy beach park although we were self sufficient we did use their showers and toilets. The staff, Eve, was friendly and efficient and didn't mind a chat. I wanted to photograph the sunrise over the ocean and wasn't disappointed. A bonus was the snow capped mountains which appeared very close. I also took advantage of the dark clear skies and got some snaps of the Milky Way. My word it was cold though! We would be happy to stay here again

Yurgo, Brisbane

Labour Weekend at Peketa Beach

Reviewed 28 Oct 2015

Thanks to all of you who came and enjoyed the long weekend.

Eve

Contact

Address:
Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park
SH1, 7km South of Kaikoura, New Zealand

Facebook

03 319 6299

reservations

03 319 6299

Book Online Enquire
New Zealand Tourism Guide Gold Membership